Bagale ‘Difference Makers’ Scholarship recipients aim to impact community

Their interests are varied, but their passion to make a difference brought them together as 2012 University of Michigan-Dearborn Difference Makers, a program that recognizes students who are improving the lives of others. Now, five of these students—Jennifer Drake, Iffa Kazi, Donna Posont, Benita Robinson and Lance Slatton—have been recognized as the first recipients of the Edward J. Bagale “Difference Makers” Scholarship.

The scholarships, available to students previously selected as UM-Dearborn Difference Makers, support student educational goals and student-led projects that impact the community.

“The joy we experience at UM-Dearborn is because we see the work and the achievements of our alumni; we watch our students succeed,” Bagale said. Long active in the community, Bagale has been a catalyst for restoring the Rouge River, has provided leadership to establish an Automobile National Heritage Area and a new Train Depot for Dearborn, and promoted sustainable development throughout the Detroit Metropolitan Area.

Learn more

More Regional Stories